2017/18 Season


The League winners were the Red Post A who have now won the league as a team in various guises for the last 7 years. The first of  year was at Peasedown Cricket Club after which the team moved to Red Post. This season the team split into two as the League moved to 5 man teams. The 'A' team is captained by Chris Allen and the 'B' team by Andy Wilcox who captained the team for 6 years before the split. Chris Allen and Andy Hughes Jnr and Snr are the only players to be in the winning team for all 7 seasons. Colin Clark (5) is also still with 'A' the team. 

Combined Red Post A and B team

Red Post A as a team won the League, The Main KO for the 4th time in 6 years and they won the Threes with Chris Allen, Andy Hughes and Kalem Marsh

The full Red Post A team for 2017/2018 was: Chris Allen (c); Andy 'Boy' Hughes; Colin Clark; Kalem Marsh; Mike Brickell; Lee Paradise; Andy Hughes Snr.

League Runners Up were the new Red Post B team captained by Andy Wilcox which also had Ash Sandon-James; Mark Furber; Matt Warren; Jamie Bown; Paul Blackstone; Alan Blackstone and Ryan Palmer. In third place were Riverside B captained by Brian Wilkins and in 4th were the Crown Exiles captained by Andy Biggs, last years runners up.  

Division one line up was completed by Norton Social Club, captained by Andy Bryant. Norton also were Runners Up in the Main KO. A new team, The Greyhound captained by Chris Dando were 6th, The Crown Jewells captained by Sarah Allen and John Lilley followed in 7th and High Littleton Rec, captained by Greg Easton and who were last years Division Two winners were 8th.  

Subsidiary Cup was won by High Littleton Rec beating High Littleton B in a last leg decider

DIVISION TWO was was by the Railway A captained by Colin Hurle.  The team included Dan Coombes, Mike Turner, Geoff Fuller, Steve Ball and Les Francis. 

Runners up were Riverside A captained by Mark Colbourne and High Littleton B, another new team captained by Matt Knight finished in 3rd

Division Two was completed by Scotty's team the  Tyning in 4th, The Crossways in 5th captained by Landlord Bob Bridges and 6th was another new team The Dolphin captained by Kev Williams. Finally the wooden spoon winners were the WunderHounds for the 3rd year running!

Martin Sawyer Champion Singles Trophy 

Winner Kalem Marsh
Kalem Marsh receiving the Trophy from local darts legend Roger Smith

Kalem Marsh was a deserved Singles winner after a superb season and we believe at 18 is the youngest ever winner of this trophy! Singles Runnner Up was Gary Witcombe for the 4th time, there is no doubt his time will come!  Gary defeated Craig Britten in the Semi finals and Kalem beat Dave 'Scotty' Kemp. 

Mark Colbourne (to Craig), Ash Sandon-Jamesv(to Scotty), Neil Raikes (to Kalem) and Julian Beale (to Gary) were the losing Qtr finalists

Tony Townsend Memorial Pairs

Winners: Kalem Marsh and Chris Allen

Kalem did the double with Pairs Partner Chris Allen, who has now won the pairs with 3 different partners! They beat fellow Red Post A team mates Mike Brickell and Lee Paradise, both who were making their debut in the Paulton Darts League.
Kalem and Chris defeated Grahame Chun and Graham Woodham in the first semi final and it was Mike and Lee who put out defending champions Lee Gregory and Gary Witcombe coming from 2-0 down. 

Runnrs Up Lee Paradise and Mike Brickell

Techniglaze Cup

Thanks to our Sponsors we were able to introduce the Techniglaze Cup this season. It was held at Norton Social Club. 
It was a unique, never tried before format of a Team KO all one night! It was a brutal format of 1 leg singles and pairs double in-double out. After a long night(!) it was the Red Post B team captained by Andy Wilcox that claimed the inaugural trophy! 

OVER 50's and LADIES

Winners: Gary Witcombe and Kate Dando

Gary Witcombe beat Grahame Chun to defend his Over 50's trophy in a brilliant final that could have gone either way . Kate Hulme continued her dominance of the Ladies title with her 5th title in a row. She defeated Paula Hoddinott

Blind Pairs

The Blind Pairs, the seeded pairs double in format that anyone can win! 
This years winners were the GreyHound Pairing of Mark Gould and Clayton Dando who got randomly drawn together! They beat Any Hughes and Kerry Langan in a great final!

Players Performance Awards 

Most 180's Kalem Marsh - 18!
High Check 164 - Craig Britten
Most Sub 15 dart legs - Gary Witcombe - 12!
Division One top player - Ash Sandon-James
Division 2 top Player - Colin Hurle


It is always with great pleasure we recognise the great  players and characters of local darts and this year we definitely got both! News of the World Qtr finalist and England and Great Britain international and captain Roger Smith was inducted this year, along with the 'legend lives on' Glyn Bryant who continues to play to a great standard after many years playing in the League. He is also our former Chairman!

Roger Smith having his award presented by Mike Gregory
Julian Beale presents Glyn with his award